Indo Pacific organiser, AMDA Foundation Limited, launched the Indo Pacific Innovation Awards to recognise and reward local companies and individuals at the forefront of naval and maritime innovation.

The Awards go to AMDA Foundation’s altruistic purpose of promoting the development and growth of Australia’s industry capabilities in the fields of aviation, space, aerospace, defence, maritime and security.

In 2022, the Indo Pacific Innovation Awards, sponsored by Kyndryl, attracted 15 entries with the winners and high commended entries presented across three categories including National Innovation, SME Innovation and Young Innovator.

The Indo Pacific 2022 Innovation Awards winners are:

To view videos of the three winners, click on their names above.

In addition, four Award contenders won a High Commendation:

  • Indo Pacific 2022 National Innovation Award HIGH COMMENDATION:
    DMTC Limited (Victoria)
  • Indo Pacific 2022 Defence SME Innovation Award HIGH COMMENDATION:
    Pivot Maritime International (Tasmania)
  • Indo Pacific 2022 Defence SME Innovation Award HIGH COMMENDATION:
    UAM TEC Pty Limited (Victoria)
  • Indo Pacific 2022 Young Innovator Award HIGH COMMENDATION:
    Mr Matthew Harrison, UAM Tec Pty Limited

Watch the winner announcement as part of a special online presentation:

View full screen version of winners announcement >

Since they were first awarded in 2013, AMDA Foundation Limited has received more than 200 award entries and has presented Young Innovator and SME Innovation Awards to a total value of more than $450,000 at the INDO PACIFIC International Maritime Exposition, LAND FORCES International Land Defence Exposition and the Australian International Airshow and Aerospace & Defence Exposition.

The Innovation Awards have directly addressed the operational and sustainment needs of the Australian Defence Force (ADF) as well as the civil and commercial aviation and maritime communities.

They have also anticipated by several years, the Government’s emphasis on establishing a strong, robust, innovative high technology defence and advanced manufacturing sector to help grow Australia’s economy and national security. Read more about how the Innovation Awards program supports the Australian Defence Force.

The Awards are open to Australian companies or the Australian subsidiaries of overseas parent companies with entries judged on their understanding of the user needs, the originality of the innovation and, crucially, their success in the market.

We have included below a full list of the winners and shortlisted candidates from 2013-2019.



  • PACIFIC 2019 National Civil Innovation Award: DroneShield Limited (WA)
  • PACIFIC 2019 National Defence Innovation Award: DMTC Limited (VIC)
  • PACIFIC 2019 Defence SME Innovation Grant ($15,000): EM Solutions Pty Limited (SA)
  • PACIFIC 2019 Young Civil Innovator Award ($15,000): Mr Lawrence Marychurch, DroneShield Limited (VIC)
  • PACIFIC 2019 Young Defence Innovator Award ($15,000): Mr Ryan McGrath, Mr Thomas Churack and Mr Jason Sardi, Thales Australia(VIC)
  • PACIFIC 2019 Innovation Award for C4ISREW, Space, Cyber and Counter-Drone Systems: Ultra Electronics Avalon Systems Pty Limited (SA)
  • PACIFIC 2019 Innovation Award for Autonomous and Unmanned Systems: Advanced Navigation
  • PACIFIC 2019 Innovation Award for Platforms and Propulsion: DMTC Limited


  • Advanced Navigation - Subsonus transponder
  • DMTC Limited - HVOF rust-resistant coating
  • DroneShield Limited - DroneShield portfolio of products
  • EM Solutions - Cobra dual-band satcom terminal
  • Solinnov Pty Limited - Bluebottle Software Defined Radio (SDR) App
  • The Whiskey Project - Next Generation Tactical Water Craft
  • Ultra Electronics Avalon Systems Pty Limited - Airborne Signature Management System (ASMS)
  • Mr Ryan McGrath, Mr Thomas Churack and Mr Jason Sardi, Thales Australia (Young Innovator)
  • Mr Harry Hubbert, Royal Australian Navy (Young Innovator)
  • Mr Lawrence Marychurch, DroneShield (Young Innovator)



  • PACIFIC 2017 National Defence Innovation Award: Thales Australia
  • PACIFIC 2017 National Civil Innovation Award: AMOG Technologies Pty Limited
  • PACIFIC 2017 Defence SME Innovation Award: Ocius technology Limited
  • PACIFIC 2017 Civil SME Innovation Grant: Nauti-Craft Pty Limited
  • PACIFIC 2017 Young Innovator Scholarship for Defence Industry: The judges chose two award winners:
    • Mr Peter Kabakov, ANSTO
    • Mr Andrew Short, University of Wollongong

High Commendations:

  • PACIFIC 2017 National Defence Innovation Award: DMTC Ltd
  • PACIFIC 2017 Defence SME Innovation Award: Prism Defence


  • Abyss Solutions (NSW) – End to End Condition Assessment of Underwater Assets
  • Advanced Navigation (NSW) – Subsonus subsea navigation system
  • Artis Group (NSW) – Artis Engineering Platform
  • Columbus Group (WA) – 3D Dynamic Fluid/Semi-solid pump
  • Defence Materials Technology Centre and Partners (VIC) – High Velocity Oxygen Fuel (HVOF) coatings for marine applications
  • Rojone Pty Limited (NSW) – RADHAZ Isolation unit
  • Ron Allum Deepsea Services (NSW) – Energy Storage and Distribution System (ESDS)
  • Ron Allum Deepsea Services (NSW) – Pressure Tolerant Brushless DC Motors
  • Woodside Energy Pty Limited (WA) – LNG-powered marine support vessel



  • PACIFIC 2015 Defence Industry National Innovation Award: DMTC Limited
  • PACIFIC 2015 Defence SME Innovation Grant: H.I. Fraser Pty Limited
  • PACIFIC 2015 Civil Industry National Innovation Award: AirBerth Boat Lift Pty Limited
  • PACIFIC 2015 Civil SME Innovation Grant: Pivot Maritime International

High Commendation:

  • Aero Medical Integration Pty Limited


  • Aero Medical Engineering Pty Limited - Stretcher design
  • AirBerth Marketing Pty Limited - AirBerth Boat Lift
  • DMTC Ltd - T-GMAW welding technology
  • Gamechanger Technologies Pty Limited - VForce Morphing sails
  • HI Fraser - SERS Hyperbaric Suite
  • Life Cell Marine Safety - Life Cell for mariners
  • Metromatics Pty Limited - Lightweight Electronics Enclosures
  • Pivot Maritime International - ECDIS and Combi-Vessel Simulator
  • Relegen Pty Limited - assetDNA
  • Sea Transport Corporation Pty Limited - Floating Harbour Transhipper (FHT)



  • PACIFIC 2013 National Defence Innovation Award – One Atmosphere Pty Ltd, WA
  • PACIFIC 2013 Defence Industry SME Innovation Grant – PHM Technology, VIC
  • PACIFIC 2013 Young Innovator Scholarship for Defence Industry – Mr Cameron Barr, University of Melbourne
  • PACIFIC 2013 National Civil Industry Innovation Award – Commercial Diving Services Pty Limited JOINTLY with Thomas & Coffey Limited, both of NSW
  • PACIFIC 2013 Civil Industry SME Grant – Sentient Vision Systems Pty Limited, VIC


  • Austal - IMARCS
  • Cameron Engineers Pty Limited - Cast NiBrAl foiled, shaped rudder
  • Commercial Diving Services Pty Ltd and Thomas & Coffey - Hull Surface Treatment (HST) Technology
  • Daronmont Technologies Pty Ltd - KESTREL ESM Upgrade
  • EM Solutions - Mobile Ka band Satcom terminal
  • Hellweg International - FD for body armour
  • Incat Crowther - SEACOR CrewZer vessel design
  • IQMS Distributions Pty Ltd - IQMS eCluster
  • One Atmosphere - Pegasus Aircraft Buoyancy System
  • PHM Technology - Maintenance Aware Design environment (MADe)
  • Pivot Maritime International - FLEXICON
  • Relegen Pty Limited - assetDNA Pilot Kit
  • Sentient Vision Systems Pty Ltd - Kestrel Maritime
  • Steber International - Bluebottle autonomous USV
  • VEEM Limited - VEEM Gyro
  • Mr Cameron Barr, University of Wollongong (Young Innovator Award)
  • Mr Nirav Rashmin Parikh, Zone Advanced Protection Systems (Young Innovator Award)

For further information about the Indo Pacific Innovation Awards please contact:

Gregor Ferguson
Innovation Coordinator
PO Box 339

Tel: +61 (0)414 803 717